Posts by Adria Silver

He twice hit me and only a portion of my troops fought - just the polloms, quips, shaman, and only some of my jaguars, so that I lost 50 jaguars but he still won the fight.

He's a cheater and is ruining the game.

I started playing on En32 (Irapuato) on 19 March 2022, and I played for about 8-10 hours per day from 19 March-10 April 2022 inclusive. Here is my review.

Firstly, I love the casualness of city-building games, and the idea of an authentic Mayan society to build up excited me. There were many aspects of it which I didn't know too much about and which looked great.

Except that some of the things weren't authentic.

Mayans never rode horses. They didn't use lances. They never referred to anyone as "barbarians" (that's a Greco-Roman word for "foreigner"). And they referred to corn as "maize".

There are probably other ones besides that, but those ones were glaringly obvious. For all of the attempts to create an authentic Mayan game, they fell down flat when it came to some of the names and descriptions. Perhaps the guy doing the Mayan authenticity bits was on holiday that day.

Next we come to the general city-building structure of it.

I loved that there were all of these guides and rewards for each quest as you went through, but I hated that then you had to press "produce" to make anything. While most games have produce generate automatically over time, this game doesn't. You need to set it to 10 minutes, 1 hour, 4 hours or 8 hours, and then remember to come back pretty much exactly then. If I am active, I want it to be 1 minute but there was no such option. I would have loved to have been able to set my own time, like 15 hours or 9 hours, but there was no such option. I couldn't do 30 minutes or 2 hours either. There were just those 4 options and if I forgot to set it to produce then came back 8 hours later then I was out of resources.